Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia

Welcome to Region I

Region I is comprised of 19 churches in the center of the Diocese of Virginia from the Blue Ridge to the Northern Neck. The Region extends across Caroline, King George, Louisa, Madison, Culpeper, Spotsylvania, and Stafford Counties; into the northwestern corners of Westmoreland and Essex Counties; and includes the City of Fredericksburg.  The region stretches approximately 100 miles east to west and  50 miles north to south

We are diverse geographically comprising  city, suburban as well as rural, small churches. This diversity also strengthens our ability to offer help and advice to one another The Region I Council is composed of delegates from each Church and Mission in the Region.  The delegates are the clergy and the elected lay leaders of each church.  The Council meets five times a year to conduct business, set a budget, authorize programs and grants, and elect officers. 

The purpose of the Region I Council is to facilitate better communication and communion between the churches and missions and the Diocese. The mission of Region I is to assist the local parish and the Diocese in carrying out their mission to the world as witnesses to God’s love and to be a visible and stable presence of the Body of Christ. As part of this mission, The Council develops programs benefiting the greater good of all churches in the Region.